MCFCA Announces its 2020 Meeting Schedule

Mark your calendars

Meeting Schedule for 2020

All meetings:
Dinner: 18:45
Meeting: 19:30

January 21, 2020 — Skippack Fire Company – Station 86
1230 Bridge Rd., Skippack, PA 19474

March 17, 2020 — Upper Gwynedd Fire Department – Station 80
660 Garfield Ave., West Point, PA 19486

May 19, 2020 — Limerick Fire Company – Station 51
390 West Ridge Pike, Limerick, PA 19468

July 21, 2020 — Public Safety Training Campus
1175 Conshohocken Road, Conshohocken, PA 19428

September 15, 2020 — Wissahickon Fire Company – Station 7
245 Race Street, Ambler, PA 19002

November 17, 2020 — Black Rock Fire Company – Station 99
260 Green Tree Road, Oaks, PA 19456


Ed Ross Honored For Decades of Service to MCFCA

l-r: Commissioner Leslie Richards, Ed Ross, Fire Chief’s Association President Brian Gwiazdzinski and current Treasurer Michael Gallagher Sr.

Ed Ross, who stepped down recently as Treasurer of the Montgomery County Fire Chief’s Association after serving in that capacity for 40 years, was honored for his decades of service at the organizations meeting in March at Flourtown Fire Company, Station 6.

Montgomery County Commissioner Leslie Richards presented Ed with a proclamation signed by all three commissioners and the Fire Chief’s Association presented his a plaque in appreciation for his service.

Ed joined the fire service in 1949 and served as a firefighter and line officer at several companies in New York and New Jersey before moving to Whitpain Township in 1965.

He joined the Centre Square Fire Company that year, where he has served on numerous occasions as Fire Chief, Assistant Fire Chief, President and Treasurer of both the company and its relief association, and Captain of Fire Police.

Ed, a Life Member of the Montgomery County Fire Chief’s Association, served that organization as its Treasurer from 1972 to 2012 and continues to serve as Assistant Treasurer.

In addition, Ed Ross served as an instructor at the Montgomery County Fire Training School from 1969 to 1976 and was recognized with an award for his exemplary service there and numerous awards for all of the other jobs he has filled. Pictured here: l-r: Commissioner Leslie Richards, Ed Ross, Fire Chief’s Association President Brian Gwiazdzinski and current Treasurer Michael Gallagher Sr.


Historic Photo of Montgomery County Fire Chiefs’ Mutual Aid Assoc. Discovered

Pictured below is a photograph of the beginnings of the “Fire Chiefs’ Mutual Aid Association” which appeared in the Time Herald on September 14, 1959.

The caption reads: “Six new members for the Fire Chiefs’ Mutual Aid Associati on are shown above being signed for membership by Norristown Chief Joseph Hartman, founder of tihe association, seated at left, and John Berkheimer, Center Square Chief, who was host chair- man yesterday, The new members, left to right, are Walter C. Smith, Jr. assistant chief of Flourtown Fire Company; Charles H. House, Flourtown Chief; John W. Smith, chief of West Conshohocken’s George Clay Company; Robert E. McCloskey, Flourtown assistant chief; George W, Clark, Trappe Chief, and Charles J. Smedley, Collegeville Chief. (Times Herald Photo)”